The varieties in farm types are the result of centuries of development with strong regional differences. The varieties were often characterized by the layout of the spaces such as the barn, threshing floor and ….’de deel’. De Deel is the work space in the stable or shed. Carts were driven in through the large partial doors to be unloaded or loaded. In addition, the part was often fully or partially equipped with a hayloft.
Nowadays De Deel with its old hayloft of De Deel offers a unique and inspiring meeting location. De Deel was a farm for more than two generations. In 2016 we purchased the farm and a major renovation was started. Today, De Deel is partly an inspiring meeting location.
De Deel is located in a rural area with a rich history. The core 'Achter Wetering' originated around the 16th century and was part of the so-called Domproosten Court. Originally it consisted of the polders Twaalf Hoeven (now Tuindorp), Zes Hoeven (now Overvecht), the Gelder Polder and the Achterweteringse Polder. The hamlet is named after its location on a transverse watercourse along the back of the polder plots. The area was a narrow and elongated area with farms and some distinguished houses, of which Huize Persijn is the only remaining.
Huize Persijn (Achterweteringseweg 10) is located next to De Deel. The manor dates back to 1781, designed in the early English landscape style. The country house was renovated in 1878. The coach house was also built in that year. Hendrik Copijn at the time redesigned the adjacent park in the late landscape style, with two tree-lined avenues and using exotic plants. The park is located as a green enclave in the open polder area of Westbroek. The porter's house dates from circa 1849. The building is named after the founder of the estate: Adriaan van Persijn (1610-1655).
The hamlet also has several beautiful monumental farms, one of which is a national monument, namely the 19th-century plastered farm at Achterweteringseweg 70.
On the site of the Noordheide farm (Achterweteringseweg 34), which dates from 1856, is said to have been a small castle called Noord Heide, which would have been demolished after 1812. The road to Achttienhoven, now the Achterweteringseweg, on which the farm is located, was called Korte Steeg at the time this photo was taken (1925) and was still a sandy path at the time. At the end of it, towards Achttienhoven, was a toll booth. (source: Online Museum De Bilt )